2022 Watch List

The year is halfway done and I realized I never made a master list for 2022! A busy year at work and going back to school has impacted my drama watching and reviewing. Sigh, life always gets in the way of binge-watching!

The list is arranged by my ranking on what I recommend. I reserve the right to change my ranking as I watch more dramas! Click on the title to read the full review.

Must See

The Red Sleeve – Melo and angst heavy saeguk starring Lee Jun Ho. If you aren’t into saeguk’s, this may be a pass for you. But if you are into Lee Jun Ho, definitely need to watch. He is quickly becoming one of my favorites. You will see him two more times on this list!

Descendants of the Sun – This was actually my 4th time watching! But I finally reviewed it here in 2022. Song Joon Ki. periodt. One of my top 5 all-time favorite Kdramas EVER. Yes, it’s a little cheesy and over the top at times, but I slurped it all up!

Our Beloved Summer – Rom-Com staring Choi Woo Shik and Kim Dam Mi with a much better haircut than she had in Itaewon Class. This one just felt different and refreshing. Plus, BTS Kim Taehyung (V) offering his voice to the OST was just the cherry on top.

Business Proposal – A rom com done right! I still need to review it. But this is probably my favorite of the year so far!

Add it to your List

Twenty-Five Twenty-One – A coming-of-age rom-com staring two of my new favorites, Kim Tae Ri and Nam Joo Hyuk. Takes you deep into the world of fencing and sportscasting. A few misses, but overall an entertaining and binge-worthy watch.

Tomorrow – Another one I still need to review. I just finished it on Netflix. I really enjoyed this drama, it may even be moved to the Must See category once I write it up. Has similar vibes to Mystic Pop Up Bar, which I also loved. Plus it stars SF9’s Rowoon. You can’t go wrong with him on your screen for 16 hours!!!!

If You Got Nothing Else to Watch

Thirty-Nine – A story of three ladies turning 40 and their friendship. Not the light-hearted friendship drama I was expecting. The concept was there, but the execution was slow and draggy at times. Really wished I liked it more.

The Sound of Magic A weirdly executed high school musical turned dark murder mystery. This probably could be a skip it, but it pains me to say that about a Ji Chang Wook drama. At least it’s only 6 episodes if you do decide to tackle it.

Forecasting Love and Weather – Interesting setting at a Weather Forecasting Agency. Unfortunately, the plot went awry with toxic relationships and the lack of on-screen chemistry between Park Min Young and Song Kang didn’t help either.

Our Blues – Just finished watching this on Netflix. Yes, I still need to review it. I’m so behind! Forced myself to get through the long 20 episodes and fast-forwarded a lot. Has similar feels to Hometown Cha Cha Cha, but a little more sad and depressing, but I guess the title could tell you that.

Sh**ting Stars – An enemies to lovers rom com set in an entertainment agency. There are some comedic and cute moments, but the acting and script are just average. It will entertain you for 16 hours, then you will forget you watched it.

Skip It

Clean with Passion for Now – A really terrible rom-com. I wish I made a category lower than Skip it. Bad plot, bad character development, and a frustrating portrayal of someone with a mental health disorder.

When My Love Blooms – A little more angsty and melodrama than I would like. But it is filling the Lee Jun Ho void while I wait for more Yumi’s cells to come out!

In Progress/To Be Determined

Yumi’s Cells Season 2 – Currently on Episode 4. Loving it so far! Lee Jun Ho is so much better of a boyfriend!

Ghost Doctor – Oops, I just looked on my Viki and realized I stopped on episode 11 back in April. I didn’t mean to drop it, life just got really busy! I will circle back to finish it!

Extraordinary Attorney Woo – A legal comedy drama about a lawyer on the autism spectrum. Currently airing on Netflix. I’m on episode 6 and waiting for more to come out. EXCELLENT drama so far. I love how they are shining a positive light about someone on the autism spectrum.

Note to self: Stop watching more dramas until you finish reviewing the backlog of dramas!

Leave a comment